<  

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Domburg are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Westkapelle for the two following months.

May 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 25 May
0:59 hrs
 
-160 cm
 
6:55 hrs
156 cm
 
 
13:15 hrs
 
-122 cm
 
19:12 hrs
131 cm
 
Sunday 26 May
2:05 hrs
 
-151 cm
 
7:55 hrs
135 cm
 
 
14:25 hrs
 
-112 cm
 
20:06 hrs
112 cm
 
Monday 27 May
3:05 hrs
 
-145 cm
 
8:55 hrs
119 cm
 
 
15:36 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
21:09 hrs
99 cm
 
Tuesday 28 May
4:05 hrs
 
-143 cm
 
10:20 hrs
116 cm
 
 
16:35 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
22:45 hrs
101 cm
 
Wednesday 29 May
5:05 hrs
 
-146 cm
 
11:26 hrs
132 cm
 
 
17:36 hrs
 
-122 cm
 
23:46 hrs
121 cm
 
Thursday 30 May
6:05 hrs
 
-153 cm
 
12:16 hrs
154 cm
 
 
18:24 hrs
 
-134 cm
Friday 31 May
0:30 hrs
145 cm
 
 
6:50 hrs
 
-162 cm
 
12:55 hrs
176 cm
 
 
19:06 hrs
 
-146 cm

June 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 1 June
1:07 hrs
168 cm
 
 
7:30 hrs
 
-170 cm
 
13:28 hrs
195 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-157 cm
Sunday 2 June
1:42 hrs
189 cm
 
 
8:05 hrs
 
-177 cm
 
14:06 hrs
210 cm
 
 
20:22 hrs
 
-167 cm
Monday 3 June
2:20 hrs
206 cm
 
 
8:45 hrs
 
-181 cm
 
14:45 hrs
217 cm
 
 
21:05 hrs
 
-174 cm
Tuesday 4 June
2:58 hrs
217 cm
 
 
9:25 hrs
 
-182 cm
 
15:22 hrs
218 cm
 
 
21:45 hrs
 
-179 cm
Wednesday 5 June
3:36 hrs
222 cm
 
 
10:08 hrs
 
-180 cm
 
16:00 hrs
213 cm
 
 
22:30 hrs
 
-182 cm
Thursday 6 June
4:18 hrs
222 cm
 
 
10:50 hrs
 
-174 cm
 
16:43 hrs
202 cm
 
 
23:15 hrs
 
-183 cm
Friday 7 June
5:03 hrs
216 cm
 
 
11:36 hrs
 
-166 cm
 
17:28 hrs
187 cm
 
Saturday 8 June
0:04 hrs
 
-183 cm
 
5:50 hrs
204 cm
 
 
12:26 hrs
 
-157 cm
 
18:20 hrs
170 cm
 
Sunday 9 June
0:59 hrs
 
-182 cm
 
6:48 hrs
188 cm
 
 
13:19 hrs
 
-148 cm
 
19:29 hrs
155 cm
 
Monday 10 June
2:05 hrs
 
-178 cm
 
8:06 hrs
176 cm
 
 
14:24 hrs
 
-139 cm
 
20:40 hrs
146 cm
 
Tuesday 11 June
2:59 hrs
 
-174 cm
 
9:15 hrs
171 cm
 
 
15:34 hrs
 
-133 cm
 
21:45 hrs
143 cm
 
Wednesday 12 June
4:15 hrs
 
-169 cm
 
10:24 hrs
171 cm
 
 
16:44 hrs
 
-132 cm
 
22:49 hrs
148 cm
 
Thursday 13 June
5:30 hrs
 
-169 cm
 
11:26 hrs
178 cm
 
 
18:00 hrs
 
-140 cm
 
23:51 hrs
162 cm
 
Friday 14 June
6:35 hrs
 
-174 cm
 
12:25 hrs
189 cm
 
 
18:56 hrs
 
-151 cm
Saturday 15 June
0:45 hrs
178 cm
 
 
7:20 hrs
 
-179 cm
 
13:14 hrs
199 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-162 cm
Sunday 16 June
1:32 hrs
192 cm
 
 
8:05 hrs
 
-180 cm
 
14:00 hrs
204 cm
 
 
20:25 hrs
 
-171 cm
Monday 17 June
2:17 hrs
202 cm
 
 
8:45 hrs
 
-177 cm
 
14:45 hrs
204 cm
 
 
21:06 hrs
 
-177 cm
Tuesday 18 June
3:00 hrs
208 cm
 
 
9:27 hrs
 
-171 cm
 
15:26 hrs
200 cm
 
 
21:49 hrs
 
-181 cm
Wednesday 19 June
3:41 hrs
209 cm
 
 
10:05 hrs
 
-162 cm
 
16:06 hrs
194 cm
 
 
22:29 hrs
 
-181 cm
Thursday 20 June
4:25 hrs
204 cm
 
 
10:41 hrs
 
-152 cm
 
16:45 hrs
185 cm
 
 
23:10 hrs
 
-178 cm
Friday 21 June
5:02 hrs
196 cm
 
 
11:21 hrs
 
-142 cm
 
17:25 hrs
175 cm
 
 
23:56 hrs
 
-173 cm
Saturday 22 June
5:45 hrs
183 cm
 
 
12:06 hrs
 
-132 cm
 
18:01 hrs
164 cm
 
Sunday 23 June
0:35 hrs
 
-167 cm
 
6:26 hrs
168 cm
 
 
12:45 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
18:45 hrs
151 cm
 
Monday 24 June
1:25 hrs
 
-160 cm
 
7:16 hrs
153 cm
 
 
13:39 hrs
 
-117 cm
 
19:30 hrs
139 cm
 
Tuesday 25 June
2:25 hrs
 
-153 cm
 
8:06 hrs
141 cm
 
 
14:45 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
20:25 hrs
128 cm
 
Wednesday 26 June
3:15 hrs
 
-148 cm
 
9:06 hrs
134 cm
 
 
15:45 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
21:26 hrs
122 cm
 
Thursday 27 June
4:16 hrs
 
-146 cm
 
10:05 hrs
136 cm
 
 
16:37 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
22:32 hrs
127 cm
 
Friday 28 June
5:10 hrs
 
-148 cm
 
11:16 hrs
148 cm
 
 
17:36 hrs
 
-127 cm
 
23:36 hrs
142 cm
 
Saturday 29 June
5:55 hrs
 
-153 cm
 
12:09 hrs
168 cm
 
 
18:26 hrs
 
-138 cm
Sunday 30 June
0:25 hrs
164 cm
 
 
6:55 hrs
 
-161 cm
 
12:56 hrs
187 cm
 
 
19:12 hrs
 
-151 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.